The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Recently, best-selling author and all-around nice guy, Martin Crosbie, sent an email asking me to participate in a blog hop and answer some questions about my novel-in-progress. If you click on Martin’s name below you’ll see where he tagged me (but be sure to come back to this site to learn about my new work!).

Martin Crosbie

Here’s the low-down on how this works:  I answer a bunch of questions about my work in progress and then I tag up to five other authors (I chose 2 of my favourites instead). Hopefully, the chain will continue to grow for some time.

What is the working title of your book?

“The Way We Fall.”  This, of course, is a working title, and may change at some point.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

While I was writing “The Games” I was distracted by bursts of ideas on what other books I could write (everything from a business book about building an effective team to a collection of short stories about winter athletes to a book about finding community in suburbia). Call it A.D.D.. Call it creative inspiration. Whatever it was, I had to resist it at every step of the way and focus on the task at hand. One of the concepts that seemed to take hold and not obey my instructions to leave me alone, was the idea of writing a novel that is a quasi-follow-up to “The Games.” While my debut novel followed seven characters and chronicled the potentially destructive power of sport, this one will focus on one primary character, Grace, and illustrate how sport can be a saving grace in a broken life.

“The Games” is now all wrapped up and published, so “The Way We Fall” is underway.

What genre does your book fall under?

Literary fiction.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

For “The Games” I picture Jonathan Rhys Meyers as Sam and Ralph Fiennes in the role of Ellis. For “The Way We Fall” I envision Michelle Williams as Grace, and Natalie Portman as her twin sister, Abby. (That would be awesome.)

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m hoping that a publisher will pick this up, but I’m open to self-publishing.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

It’s in the works. I hope to finish it before the end of 2013. “The Games” took four years, but underwent several significant overhauls over that period. I have a clearer idea of where “The Way We Fall” is headed, and a tighter outline, so I’m hopeful this will be a shorter writing process.

In brief, what is the book about?

“The Way We Fall” is the story of Grace, an Olympic diver-turned-businesswoman, and her tumultuous relationship with her twin, Abby, a talented runner-turned-runaway. Grace travels to cottage country to find her wayward and mentally unstable sibling, and in the week and journey home that ensues, struggles to not lose herself.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

As I mentioned in an earlier response, I wanted to show the positive side of athletic pursuits and how deep involvement in sport can keep some individuals on the straight and narrow, even when family history, psychological struggles and genetics push against them.  I also wanted to explore mind power–how extreme mental focus can help individuals rise above the din, and how untreated mental illness can pull individuals down. I felt that juxtaposing these ideas in twin sisters would create an interesting tension-filled tale.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

There’s been a positive response to “The Games” and many readers have asked to hear more about Sam, so I’ve included him in this book, as the love interest of one of the twins.

And, as promised, here are the authors I chose to tag. Next Wednesday you can click on their blog links to read their posts.

Andrew McAllister

Deborah Serravalle

About clairecarverdias

Olympic medallist. Author. Communications consultant. Coach.
This entry was posted in New writing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: The Next Big Thing Blog Hop « Arianna's "Random" Thoughts

  2. Pingback: The Next Big Thing Blog Hop | Arianna's Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

